HR professionals manage the human capital of an organization and focus on implementing policies and processes. Questions regarding government regulations arise frequently and searching for the answers can take up valuable time.
For instance, determining the minimum wage your business is required, by law, to pay can be confusing. The wage can vary not just state to state but it can also differ within your state, with the rate determined by city or even by the county.
As an example, in California the state minimum wage is $10.50 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees. However, the City of Los Angeles created its own minimum wage ordinance which increased the minimum wage to $12.00 per hour effective July 1, 2017 and will continue increasing the wage annually, reaching a minimum wage of $15.00 per hour by 2020.
Also, the unincorporated areas of Los Angeles County are not governed by local city government and therefore, the County Board of Supervisors determines the minimum wage requirements for these unincorporated areas.
Considering this, how can you be sure that your business is adhering to the minimum wage requirements in your location? If you have questions, we have the answers. Below is an example of how BlueFire HR would be able to quickly provide you with detailed answers to your questions about minimum wage for California, Illinois and Colorado.
California Minimum Wage
The state’s minimum wage was raised in January 2017. The state’s minimum wage is $10.50 for employers with 26 or more employees. However, the City of Los Angeles has its own minimum wage ordinance:
Minimum Wage Schedule Chart
Starting July 1, 2016, the minimum wage in the City of Los Angeles will increase according to these schedules:
|Effective Date||Employers With 26 or more Employees|
Minimum Wage – Los Angeles County
The Los Angeles County minimum wage ($10.50) applies to only unincorporated areas of Los Angeles County as of 7/16: http://file.lacounty.gov/SDSInter/dca/241117_EnglishFAQsWEPColorsUpdated3-4-16.pdf
“What are the unincorporated areas of Los Angeles County? Unincorporated areas are not governed by a local city government. In incorporated cities, local city governments can set the minimum wage. In unincorporated areas, the County Board of Supervisors can set the minimum wage. Visit the County Registrar Recorder’s website to see if you work in an unincorporated area: http://rrcc.lacounty.gov/OnlineDistrictmapApp/Default.cfm.”
Illinois Minimum Wage
The current minimum wage in Illinois is $8.25 per hour for workers age 18 and older. Employees who do not receive tips may be paid $7.75 for the first 90 days and employees under age 18 may be paid $7.75 per hour. Important: The City of Chicago adheres to its own minimum wage ordinance.
Colorado Minimum Wage
Effective January 1, 2017, Colorado’s minimum wage is $9.30 per hour for all adult employees and emancipated minors. This minimum wage is subject to annual increases based on the consumer price index (CPI) used in Colorado. Under an amendment, scheduled increases will affect the minimum wage as follows:
- Effective January 1, 2018, $10.20 per hour.
- Effective January 1, 2019, $11.10 per hour.
- Effective January 1, 2020, $12.00 per hour.
- Effective January 1, 2021, increases will be based on increases in the cost of living.
All states have additional laws pertaining to required rest periods, meal periods, etc. Trying to wade through the finer points can be both time consuming and confusing.
BlueFire HR has the answers and will ensure that your business is adhering to all compensation laws in your area. BlueFire HR’s OnCall HR Membership will give you access to Human Resource experts via phone and digital means. Or you can search for answers to all your HR questions with our OnCall HR App. To learn more about how BlueFire HR can help your business thrive, contact our experts at firstname.lastname@example.org or call Nicole at 888.892.9597, extension 702.